For Immediate Release
January 19, 2010
Contact Information

Bernadette Morris
Sonshine Communications


First Time Regional Tournament Winners Will Compete for NFL FLAG Crown at Pro Bowl

(BLACK PR WIRE)(January 19, 2010) Before NFL greats take the field for the Pro Bowl on Sunday, January 31, the NFL will celebrate its stars of the future at the 2009 NFL FLAG National Tournament of Champions. For the first time, the tournament will take place on Pro Bowl Sunday at Game Day Fan Plaza, the NFL’s festival area adjacent to Dolphin Stadium. Game Day Fan Plaza will feature musical acts, player appearances, autograph opportunities, the largest assortment of NFL merchandise, and refreshments. It is open free of charge on Pro Bowl Sunday and to ticket holders on Super Bowl Sunday.
More than 130,000 youngsters across the country played NFL FLAG this year. Twenty-four teams advanced to the National Championship tournament. All teams qualified by winning their NFL FLAG regional tournament in October and November. NFL FLAG teaches values and life skills on and off the field to more than 130,000 children each year. NFL FLAG is a non-contact version of traditional football and is offered for boys and girls ages 5-17 in cities across the country. The program emphasizes safety, fun, teamwork, self-esteem, discipline and goal-setting.

“We’re excited to celebrate flag football and all the talented players in a new way this year as part of the festivities leading up to the 2010 Pro Bowl,” said NFL Senior Vice President of Events FRANK SUPOVITZ. “The NFL FLAG National Tournament of Champions is a great opportunity to recognize the importance of dedication and team work, and to applaud the boys and girls who have worked so hard to get to the finals. We are pleased to salute them prior to the Pro Bowl.”

Teams will compete for titles in 9-11-Year Old Co-ed; 12-14-Year-Old Boys; and 12-14-Year-Old Girls divisions (listed below). All participating teams will be recognized on-field prior to Pro Bowl kickoff, and all teams will receive tickets to the game. The following teams qualified to play in this year’s National Tournament. Teams are grouped by the NFL team that hosted their regional tournaments:
Arizona Cardinals
9-11 Co-ed: Coast 2 Coast Saints/ Gilbert, AZ
12-14 Boys: Blitz Ballerz/ Redlands, CA
12-14 Girls: San Diego Chargers/ San Diego, CA

Baltimore Ravens
9-11 Co-ed: CT Big Blue/ Naugatuck, CT
12-14 Boys: Levittown Cowboys/ Levittown, PA
12-14 Girls: Levittown Cardinals/ Levittown, PA

Dallas Cowboys
9-11 Co-ed: Round Rock Falcons/ Round Rock, TX
12-14 Boys: PLEX Cowboys/ Sugar Land, TX
12-14 Girls: Cedar Park Cowboys/ Cedar Park, TX

Detroit Lions
9-11 Co-ed: Hamilton Steelers/ Stoney Creek, ON, Canada
12-14 Boys: Mo Steel/ Miami, FL
12-14 Girls: Hamilton Lions/ Stoney Creek, ON, Canada�

Miami Dolphins
9-11 Co-ed: Mo Steel Juniors/ Miami, FL
12-14 Boys: Firebirds/ Miami, FL
12-14 Girls: Lady Hurricanes/ Miami, FL New York Jets
9-11 Co-ed: JF Flag Bears/ Leo, IN
12-14 Boys: New York Panthers/ Queens, NY
12-14 Girls: North Penn/ Lansdale, PA

Oakland Raiders
9-11 Co-ed: Bengals/ Watsonville, CA
12-14 Boys: Tulare Youth Athletic Association/ Tulare, CA
12-14 Girls: WASUP Lady Raiders/ Henderson, NV San Diego Chargers
9-11 Co-ed: WASUP Chargers/ Henderson, NV
12-14 Boys: Long Beach Cowboys/ Long Beach, CA
12-14 Girls: WASUP Chargers/ Las Vegas, NV

ESPN and ESPN2 will televise the NFL FLAG National Tournament of Champions on March 7 at 3:30 pm and March 25 at 7:00 pm, respectively. In addition, NFL Network will televise the tournament this spring.
To learn more about NFL FLAG, visit or